Police Chiefs and Sheriff Issue a Statement to the Residents of Marion County Regarding the Death of Tyre Nichols in Memphis, Tennessee

Posted on January 29, 2023

We, as a law enforcement community in Marion County, find the actions of the police officers involved in the death of Tyre Nichols to be unconscionable. Collectively, we commend Memphis Police Chief Davis for acting quickly to hold those involved accountable.

We hold a deep respect for the sanctity of human life and basic human dignity. Inhumane acts deeply impact all who understand and hold true to the responsibilities of the badge we wear.

We affirm that excessive force is not tolerated by our agencies. Multiple layers of review and accountability are in place to ensure such heinous acts do not occur. Lack of dignity and respect toward those we serve simply run completely counter to who we are as individual officers and deputies and as your law enforcement leaders.

The honorable men and women who work to safeguard the residents of Marion County will continue to work diligently and with conviction to build positive and trusting relationships with all our residents.

Sheriff Joe Kast, Marion County Sheriff’s Office

Chief Trevor Womack, Salem Police Department

Chief Jim Anglemeier, Silverton Police Department

Chief Mark Chase, Gervais Police Department

Chief Mark Daniel, Mount Angel Police Department

Chief Damien Flowers, Aumsville Police Department

Chief Gwen Johns, Stayton Police Department

Chief Martin Pilcher, Woodburn Police Department

Chief David Rash, Hubbard Police Department

Chief Don Taylor, Turner Police Department

Chief John Teague, Keizer Police Department


Half Price Oregon
Buddy Puckett
Jackman Wealth Management
Day Heating and Cooling
Home Comfort
Old Mill Feed & Garden
Capital Auto Group
Home Fire Stove