Marion County Sheriff’s Deputy Awarded Law Enforcement Medal of Honor

Posted on September 13, 2023

SALEM, Ore. — The Governor’s Commission on the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor has recognized Deputy Sheriff Tyler Morrow of the Marion County Sheriff’s Office for bravely risking his life in the line of duty.

Deputy Morrow received the award because of his selfless and heroic actions during a Marion County Sheriff’s Office Interagency SWAT event on April 25, 2022. On that day, a wanted fugitive was spotted by a deputy U.S. Marshall at a truck stop in Aurora. The suspect barricaded himself in a vehicle for several hours before emerging and opening fire, seriously wounding a Woodburn Police officer. Deputy Morrow courageously took action to assist the wounded officer, returning gunfire before moving the wounded officer to a safe location. SWAT Team medics provided emergency first aid to the officer, who made a full recovery before returning to duty just two months later.

The medal was presented by Oregon State Police Superintendent Casey Codding on behalf of Oregon Governor Tina Kotek during a ceremony held Monday, Aug. 28 at the Oregon Public Safety Academy.

The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor, the highest honor bestowed upon members of the law enforcement community of Oregon, was established in 2005 to award exceptionally honorably and meritorious conduct. It is awarded to officers who distinguish themselves by gallantry and fortitude at the risk of their life above and beyond the call of duty. Deputy Sheriff Morrow is the second-ever recipient of the Medal of Honor.

Candidates for the medal must have displayed an act of bravery or self-sacrifice so conspicuous as to clearly distinguish the individual above their comrades. The conduct must have occurred while acting in an official capacity and performing a law enforcement function and occurred on or after January 1, 2006.

In 2011, the Law Enforcement Medal of Ultimate Sacrifice was added to honor law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty.  The candidate must have died while performing duties as a law enforcement officer or been killed because of employment as a law enforcement officer on or after January 1, 2011.

Qualification for each candidate nomination is reviewed by the Governor’s Commission on the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor. All candidates’ nominations must be law enforcement as defined by ORS 181A.355 and have met additional qualifications for each medal.

The Commission may consider a candidate based on submission of an application, the request of a Commission member, or a referral from the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training.

Recipients of the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor:

August 28, 2023 – Deputy Tyler Morrow, Marion County Sheriff’s Office,

October 25, 2013 – Sergeant David Peterson, Benton County Sheriff’s Office

Recipients of the Law Enforcement Ultimate Sacrifice (past decade):

2023 – Reserve Corporal Joseph Johnson, Nyssa Police Department

2021 – Sergeant John Burright, Oregon State Police

2021 – Deputy Stanley Burdic, Douglas County Sheriff’s Office

2018 – Officer Malcus Williams, Ashland Police Department

2016 – Sergeant Jason Goodding, Seaside Polic Department

2015 – Deputy Gil Datan, Coos County Sheriff’s Office

2013 – Reserve Officer Robert Libke, Oregon City Police Department



Half Price Oregon
Buddy Puckett
Leupitz Pest Control
Jackman Wealth Management
Oregon Medical Centers
Home Fire Stove
Copy Cats
Timber Town HD
Home Comfort